Skip to Content

Award Winners

  • The Alcuin Society has two main goals: to promote a wider appreciation of books and reading, and to support excellence in book design and production. The Alcuin Society Award for Excellence in Book Design is a prestigious award given once a year, and the only national award for book design in Canada.

    Pimentos and Piri Piri was written by Carla Azevedo, and designed by Naomi MacDougall and Andrew Bagatella. It won the award for Excellence in Book Design in the reference category.
  • Taste Canada — The Food Writing Awards is an evolution of the former Canadian Culinary Book Awards. These newly branded annual Awards will continue to recognize and celebrate superior writing and publishing throughout Canada’s culinary world, both English and French, while acknowledging and respecting the authority and history of the original Awards.

  • Annually, food professionals gather to honour Canadian culinary writers and publishers when the Canadian Culinary Book Awards are presented in the autumn. Designed to recognize excellence and creativity in food and beverage writing and publishing, these awards also promote Canadian culinary food culture.
    The awards were initiated by Cuisine Canada in 1998 under the leadership of Jo Marie Powers. In 2003 the University of Guelph Library joined as co-host. During these years, the contest has evolved to include three categories of books: The Canadian food culture category identifies culinary books about Canada's culinary history, ingredients and regional foodways; the cookbook category focuses upon recipe books; and the special interest category includes books that are about food and/or beverages. Gold and silver prizes are awarded in each category for both English-language and French-language books.